UT-BB140 vs. Park HHP-2

A while back I commented on using the Park HHP-2 as a tool for pressing BB30 and PF30 cups. Here’s my experience with using the HHP-2 for the Campagnolo BBright cups – Disaster.

Yes, a poor workman blames his tools. But unless you are extremely dextrous or have a willing assistant, the UT-BB140 is a better tool for pressing in the Campagnolo cups. Here’s why:

The HHP-2 is one heavy mo-fo at 2550 grams (around 5 pounds), longer than what is necessary for a bottom bracket that is only 79mm wide and has a shaft diameter damn near as thick as the inner bore of the Campagnolo cup. This makes it treading the shaft through the cups without catching the bearing seal and damaging it a tricky proposition. In addition, because Park does not supply (or even make) the proper sized bushing, you are forced to install the cups by pressing on the face of the cup.

Technically this is fine, but in practice, pressing the cups using their faces makes aligning the face of the press with the face of the cup perfectly parallel using the heavy, slippery mo-fo difficult without stopping to rest the tool on the inner bearing seal and damaging it. In addition, the face of the HHP-2 pushing on the face of the cup scratched the face/lettering of the left side cup all to hell when the necessary torque was applied. In the end, it looked like crap.

Yes, it can work. But it’s tough. Most home mechanics will resign themselves to trying anything before resorting to spending  $100 for the proper tool that will be used only a few times. I should have known better, but I tried anyway. I failed miserably. I capitulated and purchased the Campagnolo tool after pressing the left side cup crooked, scratching the lettering off the cup face, and damaging both seals.

IMG_1176

Campagnolo UT-BB140 and Park HHP-2 side by each.

Do it right the first time with the right tool. When you see Campagnolo’s more elegant solution in action, you’ll thank yourself for shelling out the additional dollars, knowing that a critical component of your bikes drivetrain has been installed correctly. Put it on your desk as a paperweight between times you need to use it. It’s beautiful.

6 thoughts on “UT-BB140 vs. Park HHP-2

  1. bluah says:

    Thanks for the review and video link! I’ve been using the HHP-2 for BB30 installs too, and I hate how bulky it is. I’ve been looking at the VAR BB30 press as an alternative.

    Do you know if this Campy tool will install regular BB30 bearings as well? If so, I’ll be getting it over the VAR.

    Thanks!

    Ryan

  2. Greg says:

    What’s the difference between this UT-BB140 tool and the UT-BB240 tool? Do you know? I have the same cups that I need to put in my Cervelo frame.

    Also, would the VAR tool do the job?

    Thanks

    • williamwg4 says:

      As far as I understand it, the UT-BB240 is a Campagnolo catalog/part number consisting of two pieces – the UT-BB140 and the UT-BB141 adapter bushings adapter PowerTorque cups. If you are using UltraTorque cups only (Pre 2010 10sp & 11 spd groups) no need for the UT-BB240 “kit” and UT-BB140 only. If you plan post 2010 Athena, post 2010 10 speed groups, then you need the UT-BB240 kit. Good luck ! As a FYI, I’m having trouble again with my UltraTorque Cups at 5400 km after my third pressing with Loctie 609 and am going Chris King PF30 BB and a Rotor 3D+, but that’s a whole different posting…..

  3. Eric Antonio says:

    The UT-bb140 is the tool on the instructions manual that I got with my PF30 BB for 2015 Powertorque Athena 11 crank. I do have regular bb30 tool but looks like it doesn’t go into the cups. And I’m afraid it will damage the outside portion of the cups. The piece goes inside the bearing for contact which is the proper way of doing it.

    • williamwg4 says:

      I’m not familiar with the Power Torque OS fit cups, but the cup dimensions should be identical to the OS fit cups for Ultra Torque. The BB-UT140 should fit inside the cups exactly. I know Capagnolo makes the UT-240 which has the additional adapters for the 30mm axle Over Torque crank / bb (it’s a UT-140 + the Over Torque rings / adapters). Check to see I would not advise pressing on the face of the cups as you said. Also the UT-140 fit is very tight, BTW.

Leave a comment

PedalWORKS

the man who goes alone can start today ...

Dr. Steve Lerer

Experienced Gallup certified strengths coach helping individuals, teams, and organizations utilize strengths to maximize potential

gowerworld

A great WordPress.com site

Archer Watches Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

sarah kim bonner

pro triathlete